Nigeria Newspaper, Naija News Today, Latest Nigerian News |

FG appoints new CMDs for federal medical facilities


Eleven new medical directors have been selected by the federal government, FG, to lead the nation’s federally designated medical facilities.

Patricia Deworitshe delivered the speech in a statement that was delegated by the Federal Ministry of Health’s Director of Press & Public Relations.

The new CMDs are listed as follows: Prof. Nyandanti Yakub Wilberforce – MD, FMC, Hong, Adamawa State, Prof. Issa Baba Awoye – MD, Federal Neuropsychiatric Hospital, Buddo-Egba, Kwara State, Dr. Umar Faruk Abdumajid – MD, FMC Daura, Katsina State, Dr. Muhammad Shittu Adamu – MD, FMC, Wase, Plateau, Prof Shuaibu Jauro Yahya – MD, FMC, Mubi, Adamawa State, Dr. Mercy Anugwu – MD, FMC, Onitsha, Anambra State, , Prof. Auwalu Sani Salihu– FNPH Dawanau Kano State, Prof. Rufai Ahmed – Registrar/ CEO, Medical Rehabilitation Therapists Board of Nigeria.

Others include Prof. Mangwa J. Kortar – MD, FMC, Makurdi, Benue State, Prof. Robinson Chukwudi Onoh CMD, Alex Ekwueme, Federal University Teaching Hospital, Abakiliki, Ebonyi State, Dr. Nurudeen Isa – MD, National Orthopaedic Hospital, Dala, Kano State who received their appointment letters previously.

Permanent Secretary, Federal Ministry of Health, Kachollom Daju, while congratulating and presenting letters of appointment for an initial Four year tenure with effect from 1st August, 2023 to the new CMDs recently at the FMOH Headquarters Abuja, charged them to work together with the health workers and stakeholders as a team and explore all necessary avenues to provide a conducive work environment and Infrastructure aimed at achieving high standard health care.

According to her, “it may be challenging but there is no challenge that is unsurmountable and your appointment is an indication of the confidence that Federal Government reposed on you”.
She enjoined them to bring their skill and wealth of experience they acquired over the years to bear in their various health facilities noting that their performance will determine the renewal of their tenure.

Daju assured that the Ministry will provide necessary support with the available resources to enable them meet the hospital standard adding that the Ministry will organise induction training to the newly appointed MDs soon.

In response, on behalf of the newly appointed MDs , Dr. Mercy Anugwu expressed appreciation to the President and the Ministry for finding them worthy of the appointment assuring that they will not disappoint. “We will do our best to improve the lot of our people, to justify the confidence reposed in us by the President and the Ministry, we will put in what it takes to move the health care system in our facilities going forward, we will not rest, we will move along with the vision of Mr. President and make sure that our people receive the best, we will not disappoint you” she promised.

In his vote of thanks, Dr. Anuma Ogbonnaya, Director, Regulatory and Professional Schools, FMOH acknowledged the importance and enormous nature of the appointment, noting that “to whom much is given, much is expected”.

He urged them to work hard, operate an open door policy and carry everybody along ensuring that the health facilities are upgraded and function optimally to deliver evidence, based on medical care to the teeming population of Nigeria.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More